First Yell

First Yell, as an event, originated 15 years ago as an attempt by the Yell Leaders and the Association of Former Yell Leaders to create excitement for the upcoming season and to make the first Midnight Yell Practice the biggest and best Midnight Yell Practice of the year. The entertainment provided at the First Yell event was a collection of A&M organizations such as Singing Cadets and Aggie Wranglers, followed by a comedian of national prominence.

The Association of Former Yell Leaders would like to present to you “Texas Dance Hall Legends”, a music event with performers Johnny Bush, Gary P. Nunn, and Joe Ely, with Roger Creager and Max Stalling. The event will be on September 5, 2014 at Reed Arena and will begin at 8:00 pm and conclude at 11:00 pm, an hour before the start of Midnight Yell.

Tickets can be purchased from the 12th Man Foundation ticket office by visiting the website, or by calling 1-888-992-4443 or 979-845-2311.

Johnny Bush

Gary P. Nunn

Joe Ely 

Roger Creager 

Max Stalling 



If you would like to sponsor the Texas Aggie Yell Leaders and First Yell please contact Executive Director of the Association of Former Yell Leaders, Richard Biondi at for more information.


First Yell was started by the Yell Leaders in 1999 as a way of welcoming all Aggies, current and former students, back to campus to begin a new school year. First Yell occurs on the weekend of the first home football game and includes several different events:

  • Midnight Yell Practice – the first Midnight Yell Practice of the new football season.
  • Aggie Football – the Aggies beat the hell outta whoever we are playing that week!

The featured event of the weekend occurs on Friday night before Midnight Yell Practice. The Yell Leaders have hosted this major performance in the past at Reed Arena, which features the best student talent on campus, as well as a world class entertainers. Student performers at First Yell have included the Singing Cadets, Aggie Wranglers, Percussion Studio, and Fruedian Slip. The major entertainers have been:

  • 1999 – Bill Engvall
  • 2000 – Bill Cosby
  • 2001 – Jeff Foxworthy
  • 2002 – Martin Short
  • 2003 – Aggie Football Legends
  • 2004 – Bill Cosby
  • 2005 – Bill Engvall
  • 2006 – Wayne Brady
  • 2007 – Colin Mochrie and Brad Sherwood
  • 2008 – Bill Cosby
  • 2009 – Jeff Dunham
  • 2010 – Bill Engvall
  • 2011 – Brian Regan
  • 2012 – Robert Earl Keen ‘78, Rick Trevino '93, and Granger Smith '02
  • 2013 – Lylle Lovett '79 & Robert Earl Keen ‘78, with Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell
  • 2014 – Johnny Bush, Gary P. Nunn, and Joe Ely, with Roger Creager and Max Stalling